Skip to main content

Understanding Permissions needed for Specific Tables and Fields

Distributor steps for finding which permissions are needed to view, add, edit or delete a table or field in Encompass via Table Definitions, plus how Users, Roles and permissions fit together. v22.01+.

B
Written by Bailey Naas-Thornton

Minimum Version Required: 22.01

Steps

How to View What Permissions are needed to Interact With a Table in Encompass
​
​

1. Navigate to any Table using the Universal Search bar (In this example the Products table is used).
​
2. Click Sub Tables, Then select Products "Table Definition".
​
​
3. Here users can view the different Permissions for that table:
​
​

  • View Permission - This is the Permission required to view the 'Products' table.
    ​
    ​

  • Add Permission - This is the Permission required to add records to the 'Products' table or edit existing ones.
    ​
    ​

  • Delete Permission - This is the Permission required to delete records from the 'Products' table.
    ​
    ​

  • Table Fields Permissions - Each field in a table also has Permissions required to view and edit that field. Users can see what permissions are required for each field on this sub-table.
    ​
    ​

Fields And Definitions

Users
​
​

Every person who logs into Encompass must have a User record. Each User record needs specific permissions assigned to control what that User can do throughout the system.
​
​

Note:
​
​

1. A User is assigned to one Role that holds their permissions.
​
​

2. Users can be assigned to one or many Locations.
​
​

3. Users can also be given additional individual, or ‘one-off’ User Permissions outside of the Role.
​
​

  • Full Name - User’s full name or descriptive name.
    ​
    ​

  • User Name - This is what the user uses for logging in along with their password.
    ​
    ​

  • Role - Each user has a Role, which determines the permissions that a user has. A user has one and only one Role.
    ​
    ​

  • User Type - Collection of Roles. This determines whether the user can see data for all Customers, for all Customers in a Chain, or for a Single Customer.


Roles
​
​

A Role is a collection of permissions. Generally, a Role is related to a User’s title or job functions. Assigning a User a Role allows that user to absorb all of the permissions of that Role instead of needing each permission to be added individually to the User record.
​
​

Note:
​
​

1. A User can only be assigned to one Role.
​
​

2. Roles control which Dashboards and Mobile Applications a User sees.
​
​

  • Role - Typically named to be a description of a user's job within the company.


Roles Permissions
​
​

  • View the Permissions that make up a Role by viewing Roles Permissions as a subtable of the Role.

Best Practices

  • If a User no longer works for the company set User’s Role = None and Status = Inactive.

a. Ensure ‘None’ Role has no Permissions.

b. Remove email address and phone number from the User record to prevent password resets.
​
​

  • Avoid granting a lot of permissions to individual users. It makes Permission management more cumbersome. Generally speaking if 2 users share the same job duties, there should be a Role created to hold all of the permissions that those Users should have.

Did this answer your question?