Skip to main content

Routing: New Route Version

Distributor steps for creating a new route version in Encompass to reroute without affecting current routes, optionally copying a prior version, and how start/end dates activate it. Requires v23.01+.

B
Written by Bailey Naas-Thornton

Minimum Version Required: 23.01

Steps

How to Add New Route Version
​
​

1. Using Universal Search, navigate to the Route Versions table.
​
​

2. Click the Add Route Versions button.
​
​

3. Enter values to all required and applicable optional fields displayed in the Add Route Versions form and click the Add Record button when complete.

NOTE: If you want to do a completely new reroute, you can keep the Copy Route Data from this Previous Version field blank. If you are planning on keeping some of the existing routings, select an existing version that you can later modify.

Fields And Definitions

  • Route Version - Selecting a new Route Version allows you to make new Routes without affecting the current Routes. The route version letter represents a unique identifier for each version of a route within the Encompass system. Version tracking: As you create new versions of a route (for optimization, seasonal changes, etc.), the letter helps track the progression of changes over time.
    ​
    ​

  • Location - Which Location the Route Version applies to. (There can only be one active Route Version per Location).
    ​
    ​

  • Copy of Route Data from this Previous Version - (Optional) Select an existing route version to copy. Copying a route version creates new ‘practice’ routes, scheduled stops, and salesmen identical to the original Routes
    ​
    ​

  • Active - The Active status on the Route Version controls the version used for Sales Reports. Leave False until the new Route Version is ready to activate. Encompass will automatically activate the Route Version upon the Start Date selected.
    ​
    ​

  • Start Date - The Start Date should be the first day you deliver on the new route version.
    ​
    ​

  • End Date - Setting a Start Date on a new Route Version will automatically set an End Date on the current active Route Version to the day before the new Start Date

Best Practices

  • You can create up to 16 route versions for each location, allowing for extensive planning and optimization possibilities.
    ​
    ​

  • Route Versions provide flexibility in planning and implementing route changes without immediately affecting current operations. You can work on a new version while the current version is still active.
    ​
    ​

  • The system automatically manages the transition between versions. When a new route version starts, the system will automatically update the old route version's end date to the day prior to the new route version's start date. This inactivates the old route version.

Did this answer your question?