Skip to main content

Multi-Factor Authentication

Distributor user steps for logging in to Encompass with multi-factor authentication (MFA) by approving a push on Encompass Mobile, trusting a device, or switching phones. Requires v22.07+ and an MFA role.

B
Written by Bailey Naas-Thornton

Minimum Version Required: 22.07

Pre-Conditions

To use Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA), the user must have a role with Require Multi-Factor Authentication set to True. The user must have Encompass mobile installed and must have signed into the site before using MFA.

Steps

How to log in with multi-factor authentication

  1. Navigate to the users' Encompass website.
    ​
    ​

  2. Upon the first time logging in, a notification is sent via an email containing a verification message and login link
    ​

  3. Click the link provided in the email to download or access Encompass mobile
    ​
    ​

  4. If Encompass mobile is installed a push notification is received on the device
    ​

  5. The Trust the device that is logging in option does not require Multifactor Authentication for 30 days
    ​

  6. The Always push login request to this device option sets the mobile device as the primary device for all future requests are be to
    ​

  7. Tap Approve to allow login request or Deny to reject it

Best Practices

  • Manage trusted devices under My Profile by clicking the Manage Trusted Devices button.
    ​

  • There must be an email associated with the user before MFA can be used.
    ​
    ​

  • The user must previously have logged into Encompass mobile before attempting to use MFA
    ​
    ​

  • To switch to a new mobile phone, login to the server and remove all devices from the Manage Trusted Devices button on the My Profile page. Then logout and go through the typical flow again of having an email sent to your mobile device, and toggling the Always push login request to this device option on for the new phone.
    ​
    ​

  • Anytime you 'Trust Device', it is only trusted for that single system, and the trust is saved for 30 days

Did this answer your question?