Skip to main content

Removing access or deleting a user

Distributor steps for removing a user's access in Encompass: deactivate the user (recommended) to keep audit history, or delete and merge into a user with the same location and role. Requires v22.04+.

B
Written by Bailey Naas-Thornton

Minimum Version Required: 22.04

Steps

How to Manage User's Site Access
​
​
​

When a user needs to be removed from access, it is commonly a debate of: Should we delete the user or just inactivate the user record?

Encompass always recommends deactivating the User record, not deleting it.
​
​

  • Inactive users will be removed from search/filter options throughout the system, and be removed from reports.
    ​
    ​

  • Keeping the user record allows you to maintain all of their audits and related information for what they previously did in the system.

How to Deactivate a User
​
​

  1. Using Universal Search, enter the User's name and select 'Search Users for [User's Name]'
    ​
    ​

  2. Click the Pencil icon to edit the record
    ​
    ​

  3. Change the 'Active' field to False
    ​
    ​

  4. Click Save Changes

If there are circumstances that require the user to be deleted, the User can be delete-and-merged into another User from the Users table to ensure that Audit History is still available.
​
​

  • NOTE: The user must be merged into another User with the same primary Location, and with the same User Type (Role)

How to Delete and Merge Users
​
​

  1. Using Universal Search, enter the User's name and select 'Search Users for [User's Name]'
    ​

    ​

  2. Click on the 3-dot option next to the User record
    ​
    ​

  3. Click Delete
    ​
    ​

  4. Find a 'Merge Into' user that has a matching Location and User Type (Role)
    ​
    ​

  5. Click 'Delete and Merge'
    ​
    ​

  • NOTE: Once Users have been deleted and merged, this cannot be undone. Recreating the User for any reason does not restore the records and history back to the User.

Best Practices

  • Do not delete users, deactivate them instead
    ​
    ​

  • Inactive users will be removed from search/filter options throughout the system, and be removed from reports and keeping the user record allows you to maintain all of their audits and related information for what they previously did in the system.
    ​

Did this answer your question?